“Tattoo ari” by Number Girl

TATTOOあり

作詞:MUKAI SHUTOKU

右肩
イレズミ
明け方
残像

黒っぽいTシャツを脱いだときはもう朝焼け。
照らされるイレズミはハートの模様だったかな?

はたちの誕生日に刺されたって彼女は言った。
顔が見えない記憶の映像
いま模様だけがぐるぐる

記憶探しの旅ばかり しかしいつしかそれは妄想に変わっていく

風のにおいや日ざしの角度がちょうどキてあらわれる映像
瞬と瞬の間に広がるあいまいではっきりした映像

顔のりんかくよりも 髪の香りよりも
名字と名前よりも いま模様だけがぐるぐる!!

Tattooed

Lyrics: Mukai Shutoku
Translation: Alex Fyffe

Right shoulder
Tattoo
Dawn
Afterimage

The sun was already rising when she took off her black t-shirt.
I could see her tattoo in the light – I think it was shaped like a heart…

She said she had it done on her twentieth birthday.
I can’t remember her face anymore
but that tattoo still spins round in my head

I went in search of my memories, and soon it turned into an obsession

I can recall the smell of the wind and the angle of the sunlight
but the gap between each moment expands and it all becomes vague

More than the shape of her face, more than the smell of her hair,
More than her name, now I just see that tattoo spinning round and round!!

Notes:

Translated in May of 2007.

“She said she had it done on her twentieth birthday.” The line lit. means, “She told me that she was stabbed on her twentieth birthday,” but I believe that this “stabbing” refers to the needle drawing the tattoo.

Leave a Reply

