“SABAKU” by Zazen Boys

SABAKU

作詞:MUKAI SHUTOKU

ゆれている日曜日 すり抜ける人混み
雨上がりの空は黄色い 気持ち晴れたつもり

東京湾に群がるミヤコカモメの集団
くちばしに食わえたどっかの国のゴミ袋
体毛は黒と白とねずみ色の合間
腹ん中、コンクリートが詰まっていっぱい
反射した品川の鈍い光 まどわされてふらつき
肌、ただれる雨が酸性 染みこんでとてもむずかゆい
夢に触った跡がない 流されていつのまにか消えた
赤くさびた釘 心臓に刺さったまんま

心臓に刺さってる 赤くさびた釘を早くぬいて
心臓に刺さってる 赤くさびた釘を早くぬいて

終末思想ずっと漂う街の気配
でも終わりはぜんぜんやってこないみたい
300円の傘の先端を地面に突き刺す
手ぶらで歩き出す 雨はもう降ってない
砂漠に。砂漠のどっか真ん中に
砂漠に。砂漠のどっか真ん中にいるかんじ
わりと意外なほど、とてもさびしい

ゆれている日曜日 すり抜ける人混み
雨上がりの空は黄色い

割と…さびしい

* * *

Desert

Lyrics: Mukai Shutoku
Trans.: Alex Fyffe

I work my way through a crowd of people on a drifting Sunday,
after it has rained and the sky is yellow, in order to clear my mind

A flock of seagulls are gathered at Tokyo Bay
clutching trash bags from another country in their beaks
Their feathers are shades of black and white and grey
and their stomachs are packed full of concrete
I stagger in a daze in the dim light reflecting off Shinagawa
The acid from the blistering rain has seeped into my skin and itches
Nothing remains of the things I touched in my dreams — they are washed away, suddenly gone
replaced with these red-rusted nails stuck in my heart

Hurry and pull them out, the red-rusted nails stuck in my heart
Hurry and pull them out, the red-rusted nails stuck in my heart

I see signs of the end times in this ever-drifting city
and yet the end never seems to come
I stab the tip of my 300-yen umbrella into the ground
and walk empty-handed now that the rain has stopped
In the desert. Somewhere in the middle of the desert
In the desert. It feels like I’m somewhere in the middle of the desert
and it’s lonelier than I thought it would be

I work my way through a crowd of people on a drifting Sunday
The sky is yellow after the rain

and a little… lonely

Notes:

Trans. 6/6/2009. Revised 10/18/2011.

Another special thanks to Grady Martin for all of his help.

Shinagawa is the name of a river.

I’m not exactly sure what he means by どっかの国のゴミ袋, but it literally translates to “trash bags from a country somewhere.” Whether or not he is implying a specific country without saying it, I don’t know.

2 thoughts on ““SABAKU” by Zazen Boys

Leave a Reply

