Six Free-form Haiku by Hashimoto Mudo (橋本夢道)

みんなはたらいている真夏の東京の屋根がうごく

Everyone is at work
Tokyo in mid-summer
The roofs shift

考えることやめてまっくろの太陽のもとにはたらく

Stop thinking
and work in the face
of a pitch black sun

さくら散るまひる日傘で行く

Cherry blossoms falling
in the middle of the day
I walk with my parasol

思うまいと日ぐれのパイプの穴を見ていた

Trying not to think
staring at the hole in my pipe
all evening

泣くまいたばこを一本吸う

Holding back tears
I smoke a cigarette

蜜豆をギリシャの神は知らざりき

Greek gods
never had
mitsumame

(NOTE: lit. “mitsumame, Greek gods did not know.” Mitsumame is a type of food that apparently consists of boiled beans, jelly cubes, fruit pieces and molasses. Yum.)

2 thoughts on “Six Free-form Haiku by Hashimoto Mudo (橋本夢道)

  1. I really like your translation for the fourth. I might even like it more than the original. It’s funny how that happens sometimes.

    I like the last haiku as well but think you could better fit the pieces together if you tried.

    • Thank you. Number four is my favorite, too. As for number six, I tried to keep it as short and humorous as the original, but maybe there’s a better way to get that across. Unfortunately, my blog has more sixes than fours, but hopefully that won’t be true as it continues to expand.

Leave a Reply

