No Light from the Firefly: Free-Form Haiku by Ozaki Hōsai (尾崎放哉)

汽車が走る山火事

The steam train speeds by
A wildfire

沈黙の池に亀一つ浮き上る

A turtle
floats to the surface
of the silent pond

淋しい寝る本がない

Lonely
I fall asleep
without a book

淋しいからだから爪がのびだす

My nails start growing out
from my lonely body

爪切つたゆびが十本ある

I cut my nails —
I have ten fingers

蛍光らない堅くなつてゐる

No light from the firefly
He’s already going stiff

障子しめきつて淋しさをみたす

I shut myself behind
this paper door
to satisfy my loneliness

何か求むる心海へ放つ

When you desire something
in your heart
release it to the sea

NOTES:

Ozaki Hōsai (1885-1926) was an early free-form haiku poet. His only book of poems, 大空 (The Great Big Sky), was published posthumously.

All poems taken from the Gendai Haiku Association Database.

Leave a Reply

