Sunset by Yoshihara Sachiko (日没 / 吉原幸子)

 Clouds sink
 I want to be with you
 
 Birds burn
 I want to be with you

 Tides fall
 I want to be with you

 Soon now
 Everything will be one

  Fingers trace
  Between the odorless hours
  Death trembles

 Ants sleep
 I want to be with you

 Winds stumble
 I want to be with you

 Soon now
 My dreams will end

 Everything is
 Silent

* * *

 雲が沈む
 そばにゐてほしい

 鳥が燃える
 そばにゐてほしい
 
 海が逃げる
 そばにゐてほしい

 もうぢき
 何もかもがひとつになる
 
  指がなぞる
  匂わない時間の中で
  死がふるへる

 蟻が眠る
 そばにゐてほしい
 
 風がつまづく
 そばにゐてほしい

 もうぢき
 夢が終わる

 何もかもが
 黙る  

NOTES:

Yoshihara Sachiko (1932-2002) was a major 20th-century Japanese poet.

Leave a Reply

