Whenever I Am Melancholy by Terayama Shuji (かなしくなったときは / 寺山修司)

Whenever I am melancholy I go out to watch the sea
Heading home from a used bookstore I go out to watch the sea

Whenever you are sick in bed I go out to watch the sea
On mornings my soul is wearing thin I go out to watch the sea

Oh, the sea!
Large shoulders and broad chest!

However cruel the morning, however brutal the night
It will come to an end

All life will someday end
Only the sea will remain

Whenever I am melancholy I go out to watch the sea

On the loneliest of nights I go out to watch the sea

かなしくなったときは 海を見にゆく
古本屋のかえりも 海を見にゆく

あなたが病気なら 海を見にゆく
こころ貧しい朝も 海を見にゆく

ああ 海よ
大きな肩とひろい胸よ

どんなつらい朝も どんなむごい夜も
いつかは終わる

人生はいつか終わるが
海だけは終わらないのだ

かなしくなったときは 海を見にゆく

一人ぼっちの夜も 海を見にゆく

NOTES:

Terayama Shuji (1935-1983) was a poet, playwright and film director.

Japanese poem taken from sanmarie.me.

Leave a Reply

