I Split Open My Mouth by Oguma Hideo (口が裂けてしまった / 小熊秀雄)

When a dragonfly is caught by its wings
it can’t move
and when a man is shut up at the mouth
it’s just as cruel
That is my affliction
I bathed
my heart and flesh
in the beam
of a searchlight
I split open my mouth
and now my mouth opens wider
than anyone’s.
I swallow the heavens and the earth
I split my mouth as wide as Nature
There isn’t a god who could shut my demon mouth
There isn’t a hand big enough
to stop my mouth from singing
I am not the one singing
Nature is singing
I am not the one singing
You are all singing to me
And I am not walking on the earth
I am spinning the earth
like balancing on a ball
I am a member
of a perilous acrobatics team
Oh, I drink and drink and get drunk
on my words!

トンボは羽を押へられれば
動けないし
人間は口をふさがれれば
くるしいのだ、
わたしはさうして苦しんでゐる
サーチライトの
光りの中で
私の心も肉体も
あいつらの弾を存分に浴びた
私の口は裂けてしまつた
私の口はもう人間の口の
大きさを越えた。
天と地とを併呑する
自然の大きさに裂けてしまつた
悪魔の口をふさぐ神はゐない
歌ふ口をふさぐほど
大きな手は何処にもない
私が歌つてゐるのではない
自然が歌つてゐるのだ、
私が歌つてゐるのではない
君等が私に歌はしてゐるのだ
そして地球の上を歩るいてゐるのではない
わたしが玉乗りのやうに
地球をまはしてゐる
危険な曲芸団に
身を投じてゐる
あゝ、ぐでんぐでんに酔つぱらへ
私の言葉よ

Leave a Reply

