Companion by Amano Tadashi (伴侶 / 天野忠)

I was feeling good,
taking my usual nice long bath,
when my wife peeked in.
“What is it?”
“. . . Oh, it’s nothing.”
Surely she didn’t come in just to see me naked . . . .

And then it hit me.
Two or three days ago there was an article in the paper
about an old man who lived alone
and died in the bath and was found five days later.

Hmm,
could that be it?

いい気分で
いつもより一寸長湯をしていたら
ばあさんが覗きに来た。
―何んや?
―…いいえ、何んにも
まさかわしの裸を見に来たわけでもあるまい…。

フッと思い出した。
二三日前の新聞に一人暮らしの老人が
風呂場で死んでいるのが
五日後に発見されたという記事。

ふん
あれか。

Leave a Reply

