Confession by Yoshihara Sachiko (告白 / 吉原幸子)

The moment confession was over
I saw your reflection on the cross

How many times have I said “goodbye”?
How many times have I said “this time”?
And how many times
Have I been fruitlessly and bitterly mistaken? —

This isn’t the first time
I’ve broken a glass
This isn’t the first time
I’ve written in red!

We’ve been through so many
Painful farewells
And endless beginnings
But I still believed
So I kept searching

I place my bets on “this time”
And offer up “goodbye” as sacrifice
But my sacrifices
Are getting fat
God, too, is fat
Only I have become impoverished
You stare with your dark eyes
At the one terrifying tribute left behind

Yes, your reflection on the cross
From now on
You will be punished for my sins
You will feel the pain of my wounds

–That is beginning without end

NOTES:

Original poem found at ポエムコンシェルジュとさがす詩の世界.

Leave a Reply

