Without an Umbrella by Tanigawa Gan (傘もなく / 谷川雁)

Rain without an umbrella, a shop in the afternoon, rain
Cold, the nape of my neck
Buying lilies, selling the present
I will gather raindrops in the palms of my hands
Shoes soaked with rain
On the postcard, one word
Runs and floats and fades

Rain without an umbrella, a flock of pigeons, rain
Your name gets wet
Buying fog, selling my shadow
I will walk with my glasses misted over
Mud and rags, and rain
The world drifts
On pale green waves

* * *

傘もなく雨 午後の店 雨
つめたい 首すじ
百合を買うのは いまを売ること
この手の くぼみに しずくをためよう
靴にしむ雨
葉書の 一文字(ひともじ)
ながれうかび消えて

傘もなく雨 鳩のむれ 雨
ひとの名 ぬれてゆく
霧を買うのは 影を売ること
めがねの くもりを そのまま あるこう
泥と襤褸(ぼろ) 雨
この世は ただよう
うすみどりの波に

Leave a Reply

