Half of Me in a Dream: Haiku by Uda Kiyoko (宇多喜代子)

Under white clouds
a melancholy crab
here with me

白雲の下に鬱気の蟹といる

Beautifully
the cremation is over
is it morning?

美しく火葬のおわる午前かな

A high fever
is a deep purple
peas blossom

高熱はむらさきがちの豆の花

Snowfall
in a bird’s eyes
is just one miracle

鳥の目に雪降るはひとつの奇跡

my soul
my breasts and autumn
in my arms

魂も乳房も秋は腕のなか

snowy field
the crow’s omniscience
in purple

雪の原鴉の全智むらさきに

a silver-winged hawk moth
flutters round and round
I’ve fallen deeply in love

白銀の天蛾くるくる惚れちやつたんだよ

Climbing up on stilts
I forget
the Prime Minister’s name

竹馬にのぼりて忘る総理の名

Japanese pond smelt
whether dead or alive
their bodies bend

わかさぎは生死どちらも胴を曲げ

Because they have
pitch black eyes
mice are killed

まっくろな目ゆえ鼠は殺される

While waiting for someone
I pick a name
for my kitten

ひとを待つ間に猫の子に名を授け

Saffron
at the movie yesterday
someone was murdered

サフランや映画はきのう人を殺め

half of me
in a dream half of me
in the snow

半身は夢半身は雪の中

Leave a Reply

