More Haiku by Sumiko Ikeda (池田澄子)

tired of meeting
and eating together
distant fireworks

相逢うて飯食う疲れ遠花火

sleeting–
my river steadily
deepens

霙るるや私の川いや深く

a teacher, a father,
a husband, and a man
first spring haze

師も父も夫もおとこ初霞

flowers in full bloom
and a window with entirely
no view of them

花の盛りの花のまったく見えぬ窓

eating too much
on an empty stomach
noon blossoms

空腹のあと食べすぎる昼桜

I don’t think I like it here in the spring wind

春風に此処はいやだと思って居る

blossoms! blossoms!
men and women young and old
get a little older

花よ花よと老若男女歳をとる

a telescope on the roof
from the day the A-bomb was dropped

原爆落とされし日の屋上の望遠鏡

in the eye of the hurricane
a room atop a room

颱風の目の中部屋の上に部屋

If I wait any longer
I’ll turn into bindweed

これ以上待つと昼顔になってしまう

my waist-high brother–
keeping jellyfish
in the ocean

腰高の兄よ水母を海に飼い

summer rain
the breasts starting to ache
are a mother’s

夏の雨いたみはじめる乳は母

the housewife’s summer
fingers sticking to ice

主婦の夏指が氷にくっついて

moonflowers opening
the tepid warmth of the plates
in the cupboard

夕顔ひらき戸棚の皿のなまあたたか

planting poppies
on the rooftop
no dependents

屋上で罌粟を蒔き扶養家族なし

the imaginary rhino is heavy
and won’t let me sleep

想い描きの犀が重くて寝つかれぬ

the scent of magnolia flowers
coming down
at an angle

朴の花の匂いが降りてくる角度

this key
opens one lock
starry autumn

この鍵で錠ひとつあく星の秋

on both sides
of the water’s surface
a flash of lightning

水面に表裏あり稲光

sky clear and high
as I walk
the road grows longer

天高し歩くと道が伸びるなり

locking me up
and setting me free
rubber balloon

私を閉じこめ放つゴム風船

Sakura, sakura
the ring must get tired
of the finger

桜さくら指輪は指に飽きたでしょ

peanut shells
scattered all over
my plans for the year

一年の計にピーナツの皮がちらばる

bringing in the new year with cold medicine

あらたまの年のはじめの風邪薬

a new year begins
the sky is always visible
from here

年新た此処から空がいつも見え

grief,
popsicles, etc.
by the lake

嘆きとかアイスキャンデーとか湖畔

winter mosquito:
as lonely as Joseph the Carpenter

冬の蚊のさびしさ大工ヨゼフほど

smelling the lilies as I say my goodbyes

暇乞い旁百合を嗅いでいる

head in hands
is it a cold
or just loneliness?

頬杖の風邪かしら淋しいだけかしら

person after person!
the drought continues
roof after roof!

人人よ旱つづきの屋根屋根よ

the infant’s breath
in the magnifying glass
stellaria flowers

おさなごの息がルーペに花はこべ

I see on the map
where I’m going tomorrow
the 卍 in Hagi

地図に見る明日行くところ萩の卍

Note: On Japanese maps, Buddhist temples are marked by the Buddhist symbol 卍 (manji, but pronounced “tera” [temple] here).

a soldier swims
his homeland forever
beyond the waves

兵泳ぎ永久に祖国は波の先

when I wake up
I’m still here
regrettably

目覚めるといつも私が居て遺憾

the love letter’s
beginning, middle, climax, climax . . .
cherries

恋文の起承転転さくらんぼ

Note: 起承転転 is a play on 起承転結, describing how written works “begin, develop, turn, conclude.” Ikeda repeats “turn” instead.

a lost bell
in the empty garden!
forever a bell

枯園でなくした鈴よ永久に鈴

Photo from: https://gendaihaiku.gr.jp/news/news-6880/

According to The Living Haiku Anthology, Sumiko Ikeda was born “in 1936 in Kamakura, Kaganaga Prefecture, Japan” and “[g]rew up in Nîgata Prefecture. Began composing haiku in her 40s. Studied haiku with Horî Kei and Mitsuhashi Toshio. Won the 36th Modern Haiku Association Award in 1989, and So Sakon Haiku Award in 2006. Became a Kadokawa Haiku Award judge. Her major haiku collections are, Sky Garden [Sora no niwa] (1998); Before I Knew I Was Born as a Human [Itsushika hito ni umarete] (1993); Gendai Haiku Collection Vol. 29: Ikeda Sumiko [Gendai haiku bunko 29: Ikeda Sumiko] (1995); The Sailing Ship [Yukufune] (2000); Story on a Soul [Tamashî no hanashi] (2005); Dear Sir in Reply [Haihuku] (2011).”

https://livinghaikuanthology.com/index-of-poets/alphabetical-listings/219-i-poets/346-ikeda,-sumiko-%E6%B1%A0%E7%94%B0%E6%BE%84%E5%AD%90-ikeda-sumiko.html

Leave a comment